Cocoon Cardigan- Ugly Fabric Challenge Round 1

A couple weeks ago I purchased a striped sweater knit from the clearance rack of my local Fabricland. I was more excited about finding a cheap knit with good 2-way stretch than I was about the pattern. So I have decided to use it for my first Ugly Fabric Challenge.

The subject:

Ugly Fabric 1.JPG

  • Purple/Gross Yellow Sweater Knit
  • 2 metres
  • Unknown Fibre (Probably Polyester)
  • 2-way stretch
  • $6.00/metre at Fabricland
  • Approximately 60″wide
  • Significant  imperfections in the first 6″ of the selvage edge

This was the perfect material to try a pattern on my wish list: the Cocoon Cardigan by Patterns for Pirates. The pattern has several options. I went with tunic length, long sleeves and short bands.

As usual, my measurements fell in-between several sizes.

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-3-25-12-pm

I printed pattern with the M and L lines visible and graded the pattern out below the bust. In hindsight I probably should have just went with the M size all round. It’s a bit looser than I usually wear but it fits beautifully in the shoulders.

50846346106__e4b64478-a49f-411c-9a21-a4f81553ab7c-2

The trick is to do this before the light goes away.

The instructions were fairly straight forward and the construction went smoothly. Actually, it went too smooth because I didn’t run up against anything that made me think to take a picture. I did choose to some colour blocking in the sleeves with a plain white knit. (I actually didn’t want to attempt to do strip matching with a dolman sleeve.)

And… the big reveal!!!!

So did I succeed in overcoming the obstacle of ugly fabric?

The Good:

  • Shoulders fit is great.
  • I’d wear it out of the house.
  • Fabric feels really comfortable and has good drape.

The Bad

  • Stripe matching was difficult due to wavy lines.
  • I still have roughly 0.5m of fabric to use up with something else.

The Ugly

  • That yellow.
Leave a Reply

